Amber Alert



NIXLE


Sheriff Notifications


Blackboard Connect

Site Statistics

      Visitors Online: 1
      Visitors Today: 24
      Total Unique Visits: 268180
Handgun License Application PDF Print


Indiana Handgun License Application Procedure


Applications for Indiana Handgun Licenses may be completed online at aries.in.gov

  • You may apply no more than 180 days (6 months) before your current permit expires.

  • You must complete your application at your local police station, before your permit expires, to be allowed to carry while your application is being processed and to pay the lower fee. If your permit has expired, you can not carry while processing the renewal.

Residents from Brook, Goodland, Kentland and Morocco must contact their local town police department for instructions. If you are a resident of unincorporated Newton County you may complete your application at the Sheriff's Office (M-F  8:00 AM - 9:00 PM / S-S 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM) or by completing the online application.  Application Options Below:


Application Process Online:
You may apply Online following these steps:
  1. Complete the Online Handgun License Application.
  2. Submit your fingerprints to the Indiana State Police.
    • Fingerprints may be processed digitally at a L-1 Enrollment Services Site
      L-1 Fees and State Applications Fees will be paid at the L-1 Location.
      Local processing fees will be paid at the sheriff's department (Cash Only)
      L-1 LocationsSchedule Appointment at L-1 )
      * Faster Application Turnaround

    • Fingerprints may still be processed locally at the sheriff's department
      (M-F  8:00 AM - 4:00 PM / S-S 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM) AFTER completing the online application.
Application Process In-Person: You may apply In-Person following these steps:
  1. Applications may be completed at the sheriff's department (M-F  8:00 AM - 4:00 PM / S-S 8:00 AM - 4:00 PM).
  2. Fingerprints will be processed locally.
  3. Local processing fees will be due the same day of your application process. (Cash Only)


HANDGUN LICENSING FEE SCHEDULE

License Type

Local Fee

State Fee

Four Yr Hunting & Target

$10
*Refundable $5

$5

Four Yr Personal Protection

$10
*Refundable $5

$30

Lifetime Hunting & Target/ No Current License

$50
*Refundable $30

$25

Lifetime Hunting & Target/ Current Valid License

$40
*Refundable $30

$20

Lifetime Personal Protection/ No Current License

$50
*Refundable $30

$75

Lifetime Personal Protection/ Current License

$40
*Refundable $30

$60

Retired Law Enforcement Officer

Not Provided in Law

Fee Exempt

Retired Corrections Officer

Not Provided in Law

Fee Exempt

Firearms Dealer /Current Dealers License

Not Provided in Law

Fee Exempt

 
Newton County Sheriff's Department - 2010